Stay in School While You’re Young. Why? I’m Old, Falling Apart, and Tired…

Drama Aint Nobody Got Time For That

On Sunday morning, I woke up with a stiff neck and a ping-pong ball-sized lump on the back of my head.  It’s my lymph-node again.  I don’t know why it gets infected, it just does.  Before, I’d just set an appointment with my general practicioner in Saugerties and take a bus there (this would take up an entire day).  They’d put me on antibiotics and give me a salve for it.  It’s never come on this quickly before, and not while I’m on immunity-suppressing medication for MS.  The rapidness has got me a little worried and luckily I have an appointment with my neurologist already scheduled for today.  What I don’t know is whether my neurologist will be there or has he already left the practice (as he has told me he is moving to the West Coast) and passed me off to a nurse practicioner.  I’ll find out as soon as they open at 8:30am.  I don’t really know when my appointment is, the office robo-called me on Saturday and I couldn’t speak to a person to ask these questions.  I know it said the time but my mind checked out as I was trying to imagine why I made an appointment on a school-day.  The only answer is: it’s got to be the only time I can see a doctor.  I’m completely at their mercy.  Welcome to the wonderful world of being on Medicare.  You don’t get a lot of choices.  You get shuffled from one doctor to the next each year as their status as a Medicare provider changes.  You don’t get the current medications, but the painful, old generic standbys until it’s proven that none of them work.  Then, they might consider a new medication for your condition.  All of this with co-pays and phone calls fighting to get some semblance of health care. It’s exhausting to do on your own, while you don’t feel 100%.  Now I have to go walk to my appointment.  It’s a couple of miles.  I will stop at Dunkin Donuts for breakfast, on the way. I sort of check out emotionally and go on auto-pilot because if I think too hard about it, I’d cry…and ain’t nobody got time for that. Thank goodness for Sweet Brown memes! I want this tattooed on me somewhere.

Leave a Reply

