MySpace- Not My Space; You Kids Get Offa My Lawn!

What Myspace looks like now. Gulp, I'm a scared.
What Myspace looks like now. I’m a scared! Gulp!

I had to go into “search for your account” since it has literally been years since I made my MySpace page.  I had it all Gothy and tricked out. It was great.  I picked out the perfect background and curated my mostly comedy and music clips.  The funeral of Graham Chapman, a lot of Tim Minchin stuff, and whatever depressing music I was into back then.  Now I come to think of it, it’s possibly a decade. I really expected it not to have me in their system at all.  Holey moley, I’m still there, sort of.

myspace-page
Four hours later, this is as far as I’ve got. You kids might have an easier time with this, but my old brain is not geared towards this much techno-speak. I may come back to this at a later date when my brain swelling goes down. It’s kinda zen right now. Hmmm.

I was kind of excited at the prospect of szushing my profile page and customizing it again.  The creative expression it allowed was one of my favorite  aspects of it. It is now a customizeable media stream. If you ever wanted to have complete control of your Facebook feed, this is for you.  Well, I’m going to start clicking on stuff and see what happens.  Aha! Eureka. The way to access your profile is on the deck on the bottom of the page.  Exactly the opposite of every app ever made.  I have been looking on the left-hand-side’s index and the top for it.  Alright, this is getting better. Profile pic and background later, I’ve added the Toccata and Fugue in D minor as my background music, alright.  Okay, the page is customized but how do you actually get media clips to show up on it?  Time to Google “how to make media show up on MySpace personal page”.  Ah, there’s a MySpace Help  site which I cannot see any way to access from my actual page.  So, what is it I’m looking for “embedding and sharing”, “making a post”, am I making a post, am I “managing your video”? No, the video I’ve searched for is “Graham Chapman’s Funeral” and I found it. It’s now in a Queue but no matter what I click on it never shows up on my page. It’s also not technically “mine”.  This used to be a lot easier.

MySpace "help"
MySpace “help”

MySpace used to be a quick way to have a personal bulletin board to share what you love with your friends.  It may work now as a Portfolio of one’s own work but Facebook is way easier to navigate, way more intuitive, is more social, and uses less technical jargon than MySpace.  I may go back and try and figure MySpace out when I have unlimited time and patience to look through every single entry in their “help” site.  Right now, it’s finals time and life is short. Enjoy!

I found this on Youtube and pasted it into WordPress in roughly .09 th of a second. Maybe some day I’ll love it and it’ll make a big comeback, but for right now MySpace can bite me.

Leave a Reply

